CWA Announces 2017 Book of the Year Finalists

Chicago Writers Association received a record number of entries for its 7th Annual Book of the Year awards.

The finalists will compete for four awards to be presented at 7 p.m. on Saturday, January 13, 2018 at The Book Cellar, 4736-38 Lincoln Ave., in Chicago’s Lincoln Square. The winners, to be announced in early December, will be selected by three of last year’s winning authors, Tiffany Gholar, Patricia Colander and Ethan Michaeli, and special guest judge, Christine Maul Rice, an honorable mention recipient in last year's contest.

Congratulations to the following authors whose books have been named as finalists for the 2017 awards: Traditional Fiction Lori Rader-Day for The Day I Died Kathleen Rooney for Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk Christine Sneed for The Virginity of Famous Men Scott Spencer for River Under the Road Indie Fiction Michelle Cox for A Ring of Truth Libby Fischer Hellmann for War, Spies and Bobby Sox Clayton Smith for Na Akua M.L. Collins for Out the Door Traditional Nonfiction John J. Binder for Al Capone's Beer Wars Megan Stielstra for The Wrong Way to Save Your Life Mary Wisniewski for Algren Indie Nonfiction Annette Gendler for Jumping Over Shadows Nadine Kenney Johnstone for Of This Much I'm Sure W. Nikola-Lisa for Dog Eared: A Year's Romp Through the Self-Publishing World Bobby Skafish for We Have Company

Each of the winners will be invited to read from their books at the awards ceremony, which is free and open to the public.

The ceremony will also present the 2017 Spirit Award, honoring an individual who has made significant contributions to Chicagoland’s literary community.

Facebook Share   Share on Twitter

Back to News and Events