Suzy Takacs

Suzy Takacs

The 2017 Spirit Award winner is Suzy Takacs, owner of The Book Cellar and tireless advocate for Chicago literature and the people who create it. Suzy is a long-time friend and supporter of Chicago Writers Association in particular, and to the Chicago writing and reading community in general.

Spirit Award Book Cellar Cake

Past Winners


Donald G. Evans, founder and executive director of the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame


Karen Thomson (Lifetime Achievement Award), founder and director of Literature for All of Us