• Connect

Chicago Writers Association received a record number of entries for its 7th Annual Book of the Year awards.

The finalists will compete for four awards to be presented at 7 p.m. on Saturday, January 13, 2018 at The Book Cellar, 4736-38 Lincoln Ave., in Chicago’s Lincoln Square. The winners, to be announced in early December, will be selected by three of last year’s winning authors, Tiffany Gholar, Patricia Colander and Ethan Michaeli, and special guest judge, Christine Maul Rice, an honorable mention recipient in last year’s contest.

Congratulations to the following authors whose books have been named as finalists for the 2017 awards:

Traditional Fiction
Lori Rader-Day for The Day I Died
Kathleen Rooney for Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk
Christine Sneed for The Virginity of Famous Men
Scott Spencer for River Under the Road

Indie Fiction
Michelle Cox for A Ring of Truth
Libby Fischer Hellmann for War, Spies and Bobby Sox
Clayton Smith for Na Akua
M.L. Collins for Out the Door

Traditional Nonfiction
John J. Binder for Al Capone’s Beer Wars
Megan Stielstra for The Wrong Way to Save Your Life
Mary Wisniewski for Algren

Indie Nonfiction
Annette Gendler for Jumping Over Shadows
Nadine Kenney Johnstone for Of This Much I’m Sure
W. Nikola-Lisa for Dog Eared: A Year’s Romp Through the Self-Publishing World
Bobby Skafish for We Have Company

Each of the winners will be invited to read from their books at the awards ceremony, which is free and open to the public.

The ceremony will also present the 2017 Spirit Award, honoring an individual who has made significant contributions to Chicagoland’s literary community.

One comment

  1. Congratulations, Annette Gendler, on having your Indie Nonfiction book, Jumping Over Shadows, named as a finalist by the Chicago Writers Association in their 2017 Book of the Year competition.

    Comment by Barbara McDowell Whitt on October 4, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Allowed HTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

By submitting a comment you grant Chicago Writers Association a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate and irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin’s discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.