• Connect

Congratulations to the winners of the 7th Annual CWA Book of the Year Awards!
Submissions will open for the 2018 awards on June 1, 2018. The contest is open to books published between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018 (date of first publication).



















Honorable Mention Awards

Traditional Fiction:
River Under the Road by Scott Spencer
Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney


This year’s ceremony will also feature the third annual presentation of CWA’s Spirit Award to Suzy Takacs, owner of The Book Cellar and tireless advocate for Chicago literature and the people who create it. Suzy is a long-time friend and supporter of Chicago Writers Association in particular, and to the Chicago writing and reading community in general.